Modbus configuration issues

Discussion of configuring and troubleshooting communication to PLC's or other devices using iX Developer.
asccloutier

Modbus configuration issues

Post by asccloutier »

First off, I'm new to most of this: iX, Modbus and PLCs. So any patience is greatly appreciated. Secondly I have poured over the documentation for just about everything related to what I'm doing and am still stuck.

I am currently working on my first HMI project for a small hydro site (family owned). My background is in software so the C# foundation in iX is what drew me to it. Here's my setup:

iX T12B (not that it's relevant at this point)
Ethernet Network
Koyo/DirectLogic DL06 with H0-ECOM100 Ethernet Adapter.

Since iX only communicates with Koyo via Serial, I have chosen to go with Modbus which the Koyo supposedly supports just fine.

As part of my debugging, I used two different utilities (Modscan64 and Simply Modbus TCP) to verify that I could retrieve register values via modbus over ethernet. I was concerned that the DL06 ECOM100 adapter was not being configured correctly. By pointing the utility at the PLC's IP address, setting the slave ID to 1 and using the modbus command 03 to access register 44106 (decimal) or V10011 on the DL06, I was able to retrieve the BCD value of 610 which was the current value set via the DirectSoft 5 debug tools.
Modscan utility showing correct value at requested register.
Modscan utility showing correct value at requested register.
modscan.JPG (51.76 KiB) Viewed 15344 times
Having verified that registers were available via Modbus I moved over to iX Developer. I set up the MODICON MODBUS MASTER controller in iX as shown in the attached screenshots (ModbusController). I proceeded assuming that the "node" value corresponds to the typical modbus slave ID. I set up the PLC IP as the station.
Modbus settings in iX
Modbus settings in iX
modbus config.JPG (69.63 KiB) Viewed 15344 times
Modbus Stations in iX
Modbus Stations in iX